A Setback

Published by

on

About a month ago, I contemplated closing the blog down.

This was because:

-My blog traffic completely deflated. Suddenly having not much of an audience really demotivated me
– I had no ideas that I could actually carry out
-I wasn’t really motivated to blog anymore

I didn’t shut the blog down, as you can see.

When you see a blog, you see the follows, the likes, the posts and the comments. But theres a lot you don’t see to it.

Sometimes we can feel really demotivated to carry out simple tasks, and to run a blog is more a task than what it should be.

Blogging should be fun, enjoyable and something you want to spend your spare time doing.

It shouldn’t be something you force yourself to do.

For me, I’ve really enjoyed my journey as a blogger, making many new friends and gaining a lot of support from my audience.

Even though I never took a full on ‘Im on a break’ break, it goes without saying I have been having breaks in between every single one of my posts.

By having about a month in between every post I came to realise, maybe I don’t enjoy blogging as much as I used to.

So I took another month break, contemplating whether or not I would like to continue this journey.

I came to the conclusion that yes, I would.

See, even if I procrastinate on it- Blogging is something I enjoy.

By having a major blogging break I feel like I’ve come back fresh with some new ideas, some new motivation and a dream of achieving my goals.

This blog is my safe space to express my thoughts and ideas to the world.

And without sounding cliché, I don’t really want to give up.

So, we hit a major setback- but in my view, it was a bit like bouncing a basketball. If you bounce it down it will go higher than it was.

So we’re back, and this time we’re aiming higher.

30 responses to “A Setback”

  1. abdussalamk Avatar

    Wow, I’m glad you didn’t stop, I really enjoy reading your posts and I’m sure many others do too.
    InshaAllah your motivation for blogging will increase, as well as your audience too 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. marryamofficial Avatar
      marryamofficial

      Thank youuuu, Im glad you enjoy my blog, inshaAllah it willll
      How did your results go by the way?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. abdussalamk Avatar

        Btw I haven’t read blog posts in soo longg (I deliberately leave the notifications unread so I can catch up on them) but when I skimmed a second of this post I was like hol upp.
        Alhamdulilah they went really really well (Alhamdulilah), what about you?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. marryamofficial Avatar
        marryamofficial

        Thats great alhamdulilah.
        OK well, this year I did two of my gcses early actually. I had to do the exams in an exam centre and they made me sit two 2 hour 45 min exams (5 hours of exams) within 6 hours, so my hand hurt alot smh AND THE CENTRE THREW AWAY MY FOOD. it was an interesting experience.
        Alhamdulilah I did surprisingly well despite all that honestly dont know how

        Liked by 1 person

      3. abdussalamk Avatar

        Oh mA that’s great to hear Alhamdulilah (how well it went not the experience lol.. oo see that’s a great post in it of itself! How your experience with the centres went). Tbh I wasn’t too triggered until I realised they THREW YOUR FOOD. That preciouss foodd

        Liked by 1 person

      4. marryamofficial Avatar
        marryamofficial

        I just went out the room and came back and saw it all IN THE BIN and I was like 😐 Alhamdulilah they went great I was honestly so surprised. My experience with the centre would be a strange post but it does sound like a good idea 😂😂 Right now im working on a meme one (been so long!)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Nabeeha Jameel Avatar

    Omg I would’ve been soo upset if you had stopped!😭

    Soo happy your still hear. I can relate I shut my older blog down too because I didn’t enjoy it at that time and cared way too much about the numbers! You are amazing, I love your writing. Will stick around for sure, can’t wait to see what you’ve got to offer!💕

    Liked by 2 people

    1. marryamofficial Avatar
      marryamofficial

      Aw thank you so much, I actually really got motivated from one of your posts on why its necessary to take a break, so thank you for that. I love your writing too! And yes, stay tuned We got a meme review coming up inshaAllah 😏

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nabeeha Jameel Avatar

        I can’t wait!💕

        Liked by 1 person

  3. 𝙩𝙝𝙚𝙝𝙯𝙖𝙗𝙡𝙤𝙜 Avatar

    NEVER take your blog down! It’s amongst my top 3 favourite blogs, although you may not post very often.
    The post though, is so relatable, even for me – in the past few weeks, I barely posted, had my worst-ever month for views, procrastinated for ages on my awards post, delayed other posts for that and never did the collab I was planning to do (which I hope you still remember), which further demoralised me, as I was planning to have done it not too long after I posted my idea in that post. That was all mostly down to me just not making time for blogging – for some reason, idk why.
    Only now, after so long, I feel like doing that collab – it’d also go well with it being the first anniversary of my blog – so would you want to go ahead with it now-ish?
    Also, I should mention, I nominated you in my latest post for that award!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. marryamofficial Avatar
      marryamofficial

      Thank you, your blog is really cool too! Okay I promise ill NEVER take it down inshaAllah 😂
      I feel like the months where I post more I get way more traffic (of course) but its so hard to make posts when Im busy! Sometimes I procrastinate without even meaning to.
      I feel like blogging especially for us teenagers who havent made it our career is more like a hobby if you get what I mean; as in its important to me but not a priority, so I guess I need to work on giving blogging more time. Honestly your blog is great and you have hit alot of milestones in less than a year which is impressive- keep it up.
      Alsooo I saw ur awards post but funnily enough idk why I never realised I was nominated. Jazakallah Khayr.
      Oh and also if you still want to do the collab, Im up for it

      Liked by 2 people

      1. abdussalamk Avatar

        I agree! I think because we see it as a hobby, we sort of put it to the side a lot easier, compared to other things. But I also need to learn how to prioritise the really important things too. Finding the 𝓫𝓪𝓵𝓪𝓷𝓬𝓮 basically.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. marryamofficial Avatar
        marryamofficial

        💯

        Liked by 1 person

      3. 𝙩𝙝𝙚𝙝𝙯𝙖𝙗𝙡𝙤𝙜 Avatar

        Yay!
        Lol, anyway, I agree, what you’ve said is pretty true. I think at the end of the day, we should blog for our passion though, and not for stats, followers, hits, milestones etc. It’s weird as well:as a hobby, I don’t make as much time for blogging in holidays (maybe because I’m enjoying myself already) and end up blogging more during term time, ig as an escape from studying lol.
        As for the nomination, back when you liled the post, I’d written that I’d complete the list later, so then when I did complete the list, I made sure I nominated you. Wa iyyak, though, you definitely deserved the nomination!
        And lastly, about the collab, that’s great, I’ll be busy in the weekend however I’ll try and make a start on it next week inshaAllah.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. marryamofficial Avatar
        marryamofficial

        Yes, thats exactly how I feel. And yeahhh blogging does seem like an escape from studying nowadays 😭
        Ohhhh it makes sense now, ive actually nearly finished that post!
        Thank you very much!
        OK, so about the collab I actually dont really know how its supposed to work, am I supposed to write up a few points and email it to you? Or do you have something else in mind?

        Liked by 1 person

      5. 𝙩𝙝𝙚𝙝𝙯𝙖𝙗𝙡𝙤𝙜 Avatar

        You’re welcome!
        I didn’t really have much more than a vague idea either. I guess I could come up with a few questions, and either email them to you or I could give you access to the post itself by adding you as an author on my blog… I don’t exactly know, it’s my first time doing a collab, how have you done other collabs before?

        Liked by 1 person

      6. marryamofficial Avatar
        marryamofficial

        When I did a collab previously we were on text (bit like emailing, I guess). I wrote my bit and the person I was collabing with gave in their input.
        it looked like this https://enjoyinghomeeducation.wordpress.com/2020/11/23/reviewing-memes-ft-marryam/
        Maybe we could construct several points individually and give input for each others points.
        For example your point could be ‘A positive of being a teenager is’ and I could say my personal outlook on your point. and then I give my point, u give ur input- etc.
        Also I just wanted to clarify if the collab was the upsides of being a teenager or you wanted to do something else instead?

        Liked by 1 person

      7. 𝙩𝙝𝙚𝙝𝙯𝙖𝙗𝙡𝙤𝙜 Avatar

        Oh right, I’m not sure though whether I’d need to email you at all, because I think, I think, if we’re editing a post that both can see, that should be enough, no? Or if I did email you, I have no idea what I’d be emailing you about regarding the collab… eh, I don’t think I know much about how collabs work.
        The collab though, actually they were two I believe – so one was the one on your blog about the teen blogging series I think, and the other that I was thinking of doing was the one in this post, https://thehzablog.wordpress.com/2021/06/28/chaiiwala-cafe-linguistics-a-collab-idea-and-my-feud-with-greenflies-more-interesting-than-it-sounds-promise/
        But it’s up to you after all if you want to do that one. You may remember that this one was more of a Q&A or interview or chat sort of thing.
        I think it’d be simple enough with the teen post if I just wrote it up and you added an intro or anything you’d wish to add. As for the one on my blog, if you want to go ahead with it, then that may be more complicated since it’d required both of our input together.

        I’ve probably made this comment wayyy more complicated and ambiguous than it needed to be lol…

        Liked by 1 person

      8. marryamofficial Avatar
        marryamofficial

        I think you can add me on your blog as a writer idk if u know how but if u dont when you go on the WordPress site (on web) on the left if your scroll there is a list of features; ‘my home’, ‘stats’, ‘upgrades’… and if you scroll down enough it shows ‘users’ if you press ‘user’s you can add me as a person on your team through my username/email.
        I dont mind doing an intro for the first one, sounds good.
        collabing on the one for greenflies- though I might suggest.. could we talk about about flies too? I have quite a few funny stories about flies, and you have some about greenflies so it could work well together ? if you’d prefer to keep it to greenflies, ive fine with that too.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. 𝙩𝙝𝙚𝙝𝙯𝙖𝙗𝙡𝙤𝙜 Avatar

        Yeah, I do know how to do that but Jazakillah anyway.
        As for the other one, it wasn’t supposed to be about greenflies, I’d only added that story in as a separate thing at the end, the actual collab could really be about anything (the middle of the post is all about that, so as you see, it’s random and not about anything in particular)

        Liked by 1 person

      10. marryamofficial Avatar
        marryamofficial

        Ohhhhhhhhh I thought you wanted to do a collab on greenflies 😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

      11. 𝙩𝙝𝙚𝙝𝙯𝙖𝙗𝙡𝙤𝙜 Avatar

        XDDD
        Those pesky insects do not deserve all that attention!

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Alina Avatar

    I’m glad you didn’t delete your blog. I enjoy reading your posts. I can relate a lot to this so I know what you mean. But hey, we all need some ups and downs in our life to make it a bit more exciting 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. marryamofficial Avatar
      marryamofficial

      Heyyyy, thank you. Its great to know alot of the blogging community go through the same thing and its not just me 😂 anddddd your blog is pretty neat too ❤️ And yeah thats true!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Alina Avatar

        Yeah. JazakaAllah ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. marryamofficial Avatar
        marryamofficial

        ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Zunairah Fathima Avatar
    Zunairah Fathima

    That’s the spirit…a true fighter..waiting for more blogs ahead

    Liked by 1 person

    1. marryamofficial Avatar
      marryamofficial

      Thank you!! ❤️

      Like

  6. annettekinglock7558 Avatar

    We all have those moments at times. Blogging is hard work. It takes a lot of commitment, time, and patience. I’m glad you didn’t give up. All the best.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. marryamofficial Avatar
      marryamofficial

      Thank you. its great to know im not the only one!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started